If you want to become a CPA in Arizona, this guide will walk you through all the requirements you need to know. The CPA Exam requirements vary by state, so you must meet certain criteria to become eligible for the Arizona CPA license.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Hours of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: Exam applicants must have earned 150 semester hours of credit, including 24 semester hours in business subjects and 24 semester hours in accounting subjects.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate or higher with a concentration in Accounting.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: Candidates must have a Baccalaureate or higher degree with 150 credits, including 24 credits in accounting and 24 credits in business courses.
Experience Requirements: Candidates must obtain a minimum of 2,000 of accounting experience over a period of at least 12 months providing management advisory, financial advisory, tax preparation, tax advisory, or consulting services within eight years preceding the application date. Work experience must be verified by a current CPA, but there is no requirement for direct supervision.
Ethics Exam: Yes – a score of 90% or above at the AICPA Ethics Exam is required.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: There is no residency or citizenship requirement.
More Requirements: None.
Initial application fee: $170
Registration fee: $90
Re-examination fees: re-examination applicants must pay the Board fee for each exam section retaken and the registration fee.
All fees are non-refundable.
Washington CPAs must renew their licenses every three years between January 1 and April 30. The renewal fee is $230.
Washington licensees must complete 120 CPE hours within three years to renew their permit to practice. A minimum of 20 CPE hours must be completed every year. Non-technical subjects may account for no more than 60 hours and nano learning for no more than 12 hours. CPE hours must be reported by December 31.
Please visit the Washington Board of Accountancy or the Washington Society of Certified Public Accountants website for more information.
A comprehensive guide on obtaining and maintaining an individual CPA license in Washington is here.
Note: Please see the Laws and Rules page for a better understanding of Washington’s public accountancy policies and regulations.