Becoming a CPA is a serious level-up of your accounting career, but to obtain your license, you must first meet state-specific eligibility criteria. This page contains everything you need to know about Virginia’s CPA examination and licensing requirements.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Hours of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: Applicants must obtain a minimum of 120 hours of education, including 24 hours of business courses and 24 hours of above-introductory level accounting courses covering auditing, financial accounting, managerial accounting, and taxation subject matters.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: Candidates must obtain at least 150 hours of education, including 24 hours in business-related courses and 24 hours in accounting above the foundation level.
Experience Requirements: To obtain the CPA license, candidates must earn 2,080 hours of accounting experience in a public firm, government, industry, or academia under a licensed CPA’s supervision. Self-employment experience is not acceptable.
Ethics Exam: Yes – all candidates must pass the AICPA Ethics Exam with a score of above 90%.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: there is no residency requirement to become a CPA in Virginia.
More Requirements: None.
Virginia Board of Accountancy
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402
Henrico, Virginia 23233
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (804) 367-8505
CPA examination services: (804) 367-1111
Fax: (804) 527-4409
Initial application fee: $120
Re-examination fees: applicants must pay the Board examination fee for each exam section retaken and a re-application fee of $20.
All fees are non-refundable.
Virginia CPA licenses must be renewed annually from March 1 to June 30. The renewal fee is $60.
Virginia CPAs must complete 120 CPE hours over a three-year rolling period, with at least 20 hours of CPE each year. Every year, licensees must complete a two-hour ethics course and an eight-hour auditing course.
Please visit the Virginia Board of Accountancy or the Virginia Society of CPAs website for more information.
A guide on Virginia’s CPA Exam educational requirements is here. A guide on licensing is here.
Note: Please see the Code of Virginia for public accountancy laws and regulations.