Each state’s Board of Accountancy imposes specific eligibility criteria for individuals wishing to obtain a CPA license. You need to pass the Uniform CPA Exam, obtain relevant work experience, and gather your papers. This guide explains in detail how to become a Certified Public Accountant in Texas.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Hours of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: Applicants must earn 150 credits from a college or university approved by the state’s Board of Accountancy, including 30 credits from upper-level accounting courses and 24 credits from upper-level business courses.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: Candidates must complete 150 semester hours in a four-year educational institution recognized by the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, including 30 semester hours of upper-level accounting courses and 24 hours of upper-level business courses.
Experience Requirements: Candidates must earn at least 2,000 hours of relevant work experience over a period of less than two consecutive years providing diversified accounting services under a licensed CPA’s supervision.
Ethics Exam: Yes – Texas requires applicants to complete a three-hour ethics course approved by the Board. Please note that this requirement is different from the AICPA Ethics Exam requirement imposed by many states.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: There is no citizenship requirement for obtaining a CPA license, but one must have a valid SSN.
More Requirements: None.
Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
505 E. Huntland Drive, Suite 380 Austin, TX 78752
Phone: (512) 305-7851
Fax: (512) 305-7875
Initial application fee: $20
Transfer of credit fee: $100
Eligibility application fee: $15 per exam section.
Re-examination fees: applicants must pay an examination and application fee for each exam section retaken.
Total: $984.60 (transfer of credit not included)
All fees are non-refundable.
Texas CPA licenses must be renewed annually by the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Texas licensees must complete 120 CPE hours over a three-year rolling period to maintain their permits to practice, including four hours of Texas-specific accounting ethics hours every two years. No less than 20 CPE hours shall be completed each year.
Please see the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy or the Texas Society of CPAs website for more information.
A brief guide on becoming a CPA in Texas is here.
Note: Please read the Texas Public Accountancy Act for a better understanding of Texas public accountancy regulations and laws.