Each state has slightly different regulations regarding public accountancy practice. To pass the CPA Exam in Oklahoma, you must meet certain eligibility criteria. This page covers the state’s education and experience requirements for obtaining a CPA license in the state.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Hours of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: Applicants must have a transcript with 150 credit hours, including 30 hours in accounting subjects and nine hours in business-related courses.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate.
Additional Requirements: None.
State License Requirements
Educational Requirement: Candidates must meet the 150-hour educational requirement, with a minimum of 76 hours of upper-division course credit. At least 30 hours must be dedicated to accounting principles, including at least one course in auditing or assurance. Another nine hours must be in upper-level business-related courses, such as economics, business management, computer science, or statistics.
Experience Requirements: Candidates must obtain 1,800 hours of accounting experience within up to four years preceding the application date.
Ethics Exam: Yes – applicants must pass the AICPA Ethics Exam with a score of 90% or higher.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: Candidates must be residents of Oklahoma prior to submitting the application. Citizenship is not required provided the applicant is a legal resident of the U.S.
More Requirements: None.
Oklahoma Accountancy Board
201 NW 63rd St # 210, Oklahoma City, OK 73116
Initial application fee: $75
Qualification application fee: $75
Criminal history check fee: $15
Re-examination fees: applicants must pay an application fee and board fees for every exam section retaken.
All fees are non-refundable.
CPA licenses in Oklahoma must be renewed annually by the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Oklahoma CPAs must complete 120 CPE hours over a three-year rolling period, with a minimum of 20 hours completed each year. Out of the total 120 hours, four must be dedicated to professional ethics study and at least 72 hours to accounting-specific subjects. A minimum of eight hours each year must be in taxation, accounting, or assurance.
Please see the Oklahoma Accountancy Board or the Oklahoma Society of CPAs website for more information on the state’s public accounting policies.
A quick guide on Oklahoma’s CPA licensing requirements created by the state’s Accountancy Board is here. A comprehensive Oklahoma CPA FAQ is here.
Note: You can find the state’s public accountancy laws and regulations in the Oklahoma Accountancy Act.