North Dakota CPA Requirements

How to become a CPA in the state of North Dakota…

How to become a CPA in North Dakota?

To become a CPA in North Dakota, you must first sit for the Uniform CPA Exam and meet the education, experience, and legal eligibility requirements. If you’re looking for a comprehensive guide on becoming a CPA in North Dakota, this page is for you.

Start a free 7-day trial!​

You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required. 

Overview of North Dakota Requirements


Semester Units


in Application fees


Hours of Experience


Residency or 

Citizenship Requirements


International Exam Program


Ethics Exam

North Dakota CPA requirement details:

Credit Requirements: Applicants must complete 150 semester hours, including 24 hours in business-related subjects and 24 hours in accounting, in a four-year educational institution approved by the Board. 

Minimum degree: Baccalaureate.

Additional Requirements: None.

Educational Requirement: Candidates must meet the 150-semester hour educational requirement. Out of 150 credits, 24 must be received from general business subject study and 24 from accounting. 

Experience Requirements: Candidates must obtain at least 2,000 hours of experience within four calendar years providing services involving accounting, attest, tax, consulting, financial advisory, or management advisory skills. 

Ethics Exam: Yes – candidates must pass the Uniform AICPA Ethics Exam. 

Social Security Requirements: Yes

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Minimum Age: 18 years.

Citizenship: There is no residency or citizenship requirement to become a CPA in North Dakota. 

More Requirements: None.

North Dakota Board of Accountancy 

215 N 3rd Street, Ste 202C

Grand Forks, ND 58203

Phone: 800-532-5904

Fax: 701-775-7430

Email: [email protected]

Contact form: here.

Initial application fee: $120

Grades transfer fee: $140

Re-examination fees: applicants must pay a re-examination fee of $60 and board fees for every exam section retaken. 

AUD: $195.35

FAR: $195.35

REG: $176.25

BEC: $176.25

Total: $863.20

All fees are non-refundable.

North Dakota CPAs must renew their licenses every year by July 31. The license renewal fee is $185.

North Dakota CPAs must complete 120 CPE hours over a three-year period, with at least 20 hours each year. Out of 120 reported hours, six must be in accounting-specific ethics.

For more information on the state’s CPA policies, please visit the North Dakota Board of Accountancy or the North Dakota CPA Society website. 

A comprehensive guide on obtaining North Dakota’s CPA license is here

Note: You can find the state’s laws and regulations on public accountancy practice here.

You might be interested in...