Nevada has the specific educational, experience, and legal requirements one must meet to become a CPA. This guide explains what you need to sit for the Uniform CPA Exam and obtain a licence.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Years of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: Nevada CPA Exam applicants must provide a transcript with at least 21 semester credits in accounting subjects above the introductory level covering each of the following topics:
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate or higher.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: Nevada CPA candidates must meet the 150-semester hour requirement, with 30 semester credits obtained from accounting courses above the introductory level, three semester hours from Business Law, and 24 semester credits in general business courses at the undergraduate or graduate level.
Experience Requirements: Candidates must obtain two years of full-time accounting experience in a partnership, corporation, sole proprietorship, or LLC. Candidates working in governmental or industry accounting positions must obtain four years of experience.
Ethics Exam: Yes – applicants must take the AICPA Ethics Exam within three years preceding the application date.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: There is no citizenship or residency requirement to sit for the CPA Exam or obtain a licence in Nevada.
More Requirements: None.
Nevada State Board of Accountancy
1325 Airmotive Way
Reno, NV 89502
Office: (775) 786-0231
Fax: (775) 786-0234
Email: [email protected]
Initial application fee: $100
Re-examination fees: re-examination applicants must pay a Board fee of $238.15 for each exam section retaken and a re-application fee of $50.
All fees are non-refundable.
Nevada CPAs must renew their licenses annually by January 31. Permits to practice expire on December 31.
Nevada CPAs must complete 80 hours of CPE over a two-year rolling period, including four hours of professional ethics study, to renew their permits to practice.
For more information on the state’s CPA examination and licensure policies, please visit the Nevada State Board of Accountancy or the Nevada Society of Certified Public Accountants website.
Additional information on Nevada’s CPA Exam educational requirements can be found here. Licensure requirement information can be found here.
Note: Read the Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 628 – Accountants for more information on the state’s CPA-related policies.