Montana CPA Requirements

How to become a CPA in the state of Montana…

How to become a CPA in Montana?

This page contains detailed information on Montana’s CPA Exam educational, professional, and legal requirements. You’ll also find information on obtaining the CPA license and renewing it.

Start a free 7-day trial!​

You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required. 

Overview of Montana Requirements


Semester Units


in Application fees


Hours of Experience


Residency or 

Citizenship Requirements


International Exam Program


Ethics Exam

Montana CPA requirement details:

Credit Requirements: Applicants must complete 150 semester hours or 225 quarter hours, including 24 hours of accounting-specific subjects and 24 hours in general business subjects, to sit for the exam. 

Minimum degree: Baccalaureate or higher.

Additional Requirements: None.

Educational Requirement: Applicants have a Baccalaureate with 150 semester hours, including 24 hours in accounting-related subjects and 24 hours in general business courses. 

Experience Requirements: To obtain a CPA license in Montana, applicants must obtain 2,000 hours of accounting or auditing experience within three years preceding the licensure application date. 

Ethics Exam: Yes – Montana CPA candidates must pass the AICPA Ethics Exam. 

Social Security Requirements: Yes

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Minimum Age: 18 years.

Citizenship: There is no residency or citizenship requirement for Montana CPA emanation or licensure. 

More Requirements: None.

Montana Board of Public Accountants 

Board of Public Accountants

301 S. Park Avenue

4th Floor

Helena, MT 59620

Phone: (406) 841-2300

Email: [email protected]

Initial application fee: $245

Registration fee: $100

Re-examination fees: re-examination applicants must pay a Board fee of $238.15 for each exam section and a registration fee of $100.  

AUD: $238.15

FAR: $238.15

REG: $238.15

BEC: $238.15

Total: $1,297.60

All fees are non-refundable.

Montana CPAs must renew their licenses annually by December 31.

Montana Board of Public Accountants requires all CPAs to complete 120 hours of CPE in a three-year rolling period, including 60 hours of technical subjects and two hours of accounting-specific ethics.

For more information on the state’s requirements for the CPA examination and licensing, contact the Montana Board of Public Accountants or visit the Montana Society of CPAs page. 

A detailed guide on becoming a CPA in Montana is here. The CPE requirement guide can be found here

Note: Read the Montana Statutes for a better understanding of the state’s CPA examination and licensure policies. Publiuc Accountants.

You might be interested in...