Although the CPA Exam is uniform, each state has different educational and legal eligibility requirements. If you want to become a CPA in Mississippi, read this guide to learn more about the examinations and licensing regulations in the state.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Year of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: One must complete at least 150 semester hours in a four-year educational institution, including a minimum of 24 hours of upper-division or graduate-level accounting and 24 hours in business-related courses with at least three hours in the following:
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate or higher with a concentration in Accounting.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: To obtain a CPA license in Mississippi, one must complete 150 semester hours, including 24 hours in accounting courses and 24 hours in business-related subjects required for the examination.
Experience Requirements: Mississippi CPA candidates must obtain at least one year of full-time employment experience in accounting and auditing, management advisory, financial advisory, tax advisory, or preparation of tax returns under a licensed CPA’s supervision.
Ethics Exam: Yes – applicants must pass the AICPA Ethics Exam with at least a 90% success score.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: No
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: Applicants must be permanent residents of Mississippi, be an employee, or run a business in the state.
More Requirements: None.
Mississippi Board of Public Accountancy
5 Old River Place, Suite 104
Jackson, MS 39202-3449
Phone: (601) 354-7320
Fax: (601) 354-7290
Initial application fee: $150
Registration fee: $135 for four sections.
Transfer of credits fee: $50
Re-examination fees: re-examination applicants must pay a Board fee of $238.15 and a registration fee for each exam section.
All fees are non-refundable.
Mississippi CPAs must renew their licenses every year by January 1. However, licensees must report their CPE hours by June 30.
To renew their license, Mississippi CPAs must complete a minimum of 40 CPE hours for each reporting period, including four hours of professional ethics study. One of these four hours must be obtained in the Mississippi Public Accountancy Law and Regulations study.
For more information on the state’s CPA regulations, visit the Mississippi CPA Society or the Mississippi Board of Public Accountancy website.
A detailed guide on Mississippi CPA examination and licensing requirements can be found on the state’s Board of Accountancy website. A detailed FAQ is here.
Note: Read the Mississippi Public Accountancy Statutes for a better understanding of the state’s CPA examination and licensing policies.