To become eligible for the Uniform CPA Exam in Massachusetts, one must meet certain criteria. This page provides detailed information on educational, professional, and legal requirements for CPA examination and licensure in Massachusetts state.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Hours of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: One must meet the 120-credit hour or 180-quarter-hour educational requirement to sit for the CPA Exam in Massachusetts, including 21 undergraduate credits from financial accounting, audit, management accounting, or taxation study and nine undergraduate credit hours from business-related subjects. International students must have their credits evaluated by NASBA.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate or higher.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: To become a CPA in Massachusetts, one must obtain a Baccalaureate with 150 credit hours, including at least 21 hours in accounting and nine hours in business subject study.
Experience Requirements: One must obtain 2,000 hours of professional experience in accounting over the course of at least one year to obtain a CPA license in Massachusetts. Part-time experience can be obtained over the course of up to three years. Provided services must involve compilation, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills.
Ethics Exam: No
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: There is no citizenship or residency requirement for becoming a CPA in Massachusetts.
More Requirements: None.
Massachusetts Board of Public Accountancy
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118
Initial application fee: $195
Registration fees: $177 for four sections.
Re-examination fees: re-examination applicants must pay the registration and Board fee for exam sections they retake.
All fees are non-refundable.
Massachusetts CPA licenses must be renewed on a biennial basis. The expiration date for individual licenses is June 30.
To renew a CPA license in Massachusetts, one must present proof of completing 80 CPE hours with four hours in accounting ethics. The CPE requirement for the first renewal period may be lower, depending on the license issue date.
For more information on Massachusetts CPA examination and licensing, visit the Massachusetts Society of CPAs website.
You can find detailed information on Massachusetts CPA Exam requirements here.
Note: Read Massachusetts Statutes and Regulations (Accountancy) for a better understanding of the state’s policies on public accountancy practice and licensure.