Georgia CPA Requirements

How to become a CPA in the state of Georgia…

How to become a CPA in Georgia?

Although most U.S. states strive to impose uniform CPA Exam and licensure requirements, some crucial details may vary. Learn about CPA eligibility requirements in the state of Georgia on this page.

Start a free 7-day trial!​

You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required. 

Overview of Georgia Requirements


Semester Units


in Application fees


Hours of Experience


Residency or 

Citizenship Requirements


International Exam Program


Ethics Exam

Georgia CPA requirement details

Credit Requirements: 120-semester units with at least 20 semester hours or 30 quarter hours in accounting-related subjects above the elementary level at a four-year educational institution offering a Baccalaureate degree. 

Minimum degree: Baccalaureate.

Additional Requirements: None.

Educational Requirement: a minimum of 150 credit hours, including 30 hours in accounting above the introductory level and 24 hours in business-related subjects. 

Experience Requirements: Georgia CPA license applicants must obtain at least 2,000 hours of public, industry, or government accounting experience as a staff accountant by a practicing CPA. The experience must be completed no more than one year preceding the application date. The Board does not accept experience obtained through part-time work. Alternatively, applicants may present proof of teaching experience including at least two accounting courses above elementary level consisting of no less than 24 hours per semester. 

Ethics Exam: No

Social Security Requirements: Yes

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Minimum Age: 18 years.

Citizenship: The state of Georgia requires all CPA applicants to be U.S. citizens, legal permanent U.S. residents, or qualified non-immigrants under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. However, applicants don’t have to be residents in the state of Georgia. 

More Requirements: None.

Georgia State Board of Accountancy 

200 Piedmont Avenue SE

Suite 1604, West Tower


(404) 463-0365

[email protected]

Initial application fee: $170

Registration fee: $85

Re-examination fees: To re-take the exam, applicants must pay an application fee, registration fee, and Board fees for the exam sections they retake. 

AUD: $238.15

FAR: $238.15

REG: $238.15

BEC: $238.15

Total: $1,207.60

All fees are non-refundable. 

Georgia CPA licenses expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years. Firm licenses expire on June 30 of even-numbered years.

Georgia state has no CPE requirement for the first year of licensure. After the first renewal period, CPAs must complete 80 CPE hours per renewal period, including 16 hours of auditing and accounting subject study. Licensees above the age of 70 are exempt from the CPE requirement.

Learn more by visiting the Georgia Society of CPAs or the Georgia State Board of Accountancy website. 

A detailed guide for applying for CPA Exam in Georgia can be found on the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy website

Note: For a better understanding of Georgia state CPA and general accountancy laws, refer to the Rules, Laws, and Policies page on GSBA’s website.

You might be interested in...