To sit for a CPA Exam, one must meet the eligibility requirements. If you’re looking for a comprehensive guide on CPA examination and licensing education, experience, and legal requirements in Florida state, this page is for you.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Year of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: at least 120 credit hours or 160 quarter hours, including 24 upper-division accounting courses covering taxation and auditing and 24 hours of upper-division business-related courses, out of which three hours must be in business law.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: at least 150 credit hours or 225 quarter hours, including 30 semester hours of upper-division accounting study covering taxation, auditing, and managerial accounting and 36 semester hours of upper-division business courses, including three hours covering U.S. business law.
Experience Requirements: one must receive at least one year of accounting practice experience to obtain the CPA license. The experience must be verified by an active CPA.
Ethics Exam: No
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: U.S. citizenship or Florida state residency is not mandatory.
More Requirements: None.
240 NW 76th Drive, Suite A
Gainesville, FL 32607
Phone: (850) 487-1395
Fax: (352) 333-2508
Initial application fee: $170
Registration fee: $75
Re-examination fees: All re-examination applicants must pay the application and registration fees along with Board fees for the sections they retake.
All fees are non-refundable.
Florida CPA licenses must be renewed every two years. The licenses expire on June 30. Initial licenses must be renewed on the third June 30 after the issue date.
Florida CPAs must complete at least 80 CPE hours with at least eight hours in accounting and four hours in Florida accounting ethics. No more than 20 hours can be spent studying behavior subjects.
Learn more by visiting the Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants website or contacting the Florida Board of Accountancy.
A detailed guide for becoming a CPA in Florida can be found on the Florida Institute of Certified Public Accountants page.
Note: For a better understanding of Florida CPA examination and licensing laws, see Florida Statutes, Chapter 473, Public Accountancy. Chapter 6 – Certified Publiuc Accountants.