If you’re looking for information on becoming a CPA in New Jersey, we’ve got you covered. This page contains everything you need to know about the state’s CPA examination and licensure eligibility and renewal requirements.
You’ll have full access to the Universal CPA platform! Click the button below to sign up for a free trial. No credit card required.
in Application fees
Years of Experience
International Exam Program
Credit Requirements: Applicants must provide a transcript with 120 semester credits, including 24 credits obtained from general business subject study and 24 hours from accounting courses.
Minimum degree: Baccalaureate or higher in any study field.
Additional Requirements: None.
Educational Requirement: CPA candidates must have a Bachelor’s degree in any field with 150 credit hours, including 24 credits in accounting and 24 credits in business subjects required to sit for the exam.
Experience Requirements: Candidates must obtain one year of professional experience in public accounting practice under the supervision of a licensed CPA.
Ethics Exam: Yes – applicants must pass the New Jersey-specific accounting ethics exam to obtain a license. Note that the exam is different from the Uniform AICPA Ethics Exam required by many states.
Social Security Requirements: Yes
Participates in International Exam Program: No
Minimum Age: 18 years.
Citizenship: There is no residency requirement to sit for the CPA Exam in New Jersey.
More Requirements: None.
New Jersey Board of Accountancy
Mailing address: P.O. Box 45000
Newark, New Jersey 07101
Initial application fee: $160
Registration fee: $80
Re-examination fees: applicants must pay the Board fee for each exam section retaken and a registration fee of $80.
All fees are non-refundable.
New Jersey CPA licenses must be renewed every three years by December 31.
New Jersey CPAs must complete 120 CPE hours over a three-year rolling period, with a minimum of 20 hours per year. Out of 120 hours, 60 must be in technical subject areas, including 24 in accounting and auditing. Another four hours must be in New Jersey-specific accounting ethics and law.
For more information on the state’s policies on CPA examination, licensing, and renewals, please contact the New Jersey Board of Accountancy or visit the New Jersey Society of Certified Public Accountants website.
A comprehensive guide on becoming a CPA in New Jersey can be found on the New Jersey Society of Certified Public Accountants website.
Note: You can find the state’s accountancy statutes and regulations here.