Alaska CPA Requirements

How to become a CPA in the state of Alaska…

How to become a CPA in Alaska?

To obtain a CPA license in Alaska, you must meet certain eligibility criteria that might not
match those imposed by other states. This guide contains all the information you need about
the requirements for becoming a CPA in Alaska.

Overview of Alaska Requirements


Semester Units


in Application fees


Years of Experience


Residency or 

Citizenship Requirements


International Exam Program


Ethics Exam

Start a Free 7-day Trial Today!

You'll receive access to video lectures,
study guides, and practice questions!

Alaska CPA Exam requirement details:

Credit Requirements:

120-semester units to sit for the exam, including a Baccalaureate degree with a concentration in Accounting OR AACSB-accredited Graduate Degree

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate

Additional Requirements: 24 Semester hours of Accounting (upper division 300 level or higher undergraduate and/or graduate level)

24 Semester hours of Business related courses

Educational Requirement: Candidates must complete 150 semester hours in a qualifying four-year educational institution, including at least 24 semester hours in Accounting. 

Experience Requirements: Applicants must obtain at least two years of accounting-related work experience in government, industry, academia, or public practice. 

Ethics Exam: Yes – applicants must pass the Uniform AICPA Ethics Exam to obtain a CPA license.

Social Security Requirements: Yes

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Minimum Age: 19 years.

Citizenship: There is no residency or citizenship requirement for the CPA examination and
licensing in Alaska.

More Requirements: None.

Alaska State Board of Accountancy 

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1500

Anchorage, AK 99501  

[email protected]

Fax:(907) 269-8156

Application fee: $185

Registration fee: $90

Re-examination fees: re-examination applicants must pay a registration fee of $90 and a Board fee of $238.15 for each exam section retaken. 

AUD: $238.15

FAR: $238.15

REG: $238.15

BEC: $238.15

Total: $1,227.60

All fees are non-refundable.

Alaska CPA licenses lapse on December 31 of each odd-numbered year, and working past the expiration date is illegal.

Alaska CPAs must complete at least 80 CPE hours over a two-year rolling period to maintain their permit to practice, including four hours in ethics study. At least 20 CPE hours must be completed each year.

Please see the Alaska Board of Public

for more information on becoming a CPA in the state. 

A comprehensive guide to CPA Exam requirements and fees can be found here

Note: Please read the Alaska State Board of Accountancy Statutes and Regulations page for a better understanding of the state’s public accountancy policies.

You might be interested in...